The Miser of Mayfair By M. C. Beaton

When No. 67 Clarges Street lies vacant from year to year, the staff begins to worry about losing their livelihood—until the arrival of Roderick Sinclair, a miserly gentleman with a beautiful daughter who is keeping a mysterious secret. Soon Rainbird the butler befriends her and finds himself drawn into a scheme that will turn the town on its ear.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She was a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author wrote under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also wrote under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

M.C. BEATON® is a registered trademark of M.C. Beaton Limited

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton