His Lordship's Pleasure By M. C. Beaton

Married to a drunkard and gambler, Annabelle Carruthers secretly pines for dashing Lord Darkwood. When her husband dies under mysterious circumstances, Annabelle faces destitution and offers herself as mistress to Lord Darkwood. He is loath to take advantage of the lady—until his investigation of her late husband’s spying activities throws them both into danger.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She was a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author wrote under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also wrote under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

M.C. BEATON® is a registered trademark of M.C. Beaton Limited

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton