Rake's Progress By M. C. Beaton

Lord Guy Carlton is not the marrying kind. When he rents No. 67 Clarges Street for the Season, he has no plans other than revelry—and certainly no plans to find a wife. But he didn’t count on meeting the beautiful but innocent Miss Esther Jones—nor on the resourcefulness of the No. 67 Clarges staff in bringing them together.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She was a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author wrote under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also wrote under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

M.C. BEATON® is a registered trademark of M.C. Beaton Limited

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton