The Deception By M. C. Beaton

When Sir William gambled away the beloved family estate, his daughters all tried to regain it—through marriage. Abigail’s two older sisters married for love, not money, so Abigail sets her cap for Harry Devers. All goes according to plan—that is, until another handsome lord returns from the wars with his sights set on Abigail.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She was a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author wrote under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also wrote under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

M.C. BEATON® is a registered trademark of M.C. Beaton Limited

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton