Penelope Goes to Portsmouth By M. C. Beaton

When Miss Hannah Pym accompanies the lovely but practical Miss Penelope Wilkins to Portsmouth, she has a secret agenda—matching the girl with Lord Augustus Railton, their handsome traveling companion. Miss Wilkins turns up her nose at the rakish noble, but soon the three are caught up in an adventure—that would lead to a match made in Portsmouth.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She was a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author wrote under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also wrote under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

M.C. BEATON® is a registered trademark of M.C. Beaton Limited

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton