Lady Fortescue Steps Out By M. C. Beaton

To escape poverty, elderly widow Lady Fortescue hatches a plot to steal jewels—and use the funds to fix up a fashionable hotel. She soon accumulates a cast of eccentric, warm-hearted friends to help her run it—and share in her adventures. The staff of the Poor Relations hotel falls into larceny, attempted murder, hilarity—and romance.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She was a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author wrote under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also wrote under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

M.C. BEATON® is a registered trademark of M.C. Beaton Limited

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton