The Adventuress By M. C. Beaton

The new tenants at No. 67 Clarges Street are hiding a dangerous secret. Sir George is a former butler, and his lovely daughter, Emily, is a runaway chambermaid. They are fleeing the villainous Sir Edward Kirby, and soon the staff at No. 67 Clarges must hatch a scheme to keep them safe—and find a match for Emily in the process.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She is a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and has worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author has written under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also has written under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

The author lived in the United States, but now splits her time between the Cotswolds, England and Paris, France.

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton