The Intrigue By M. C. Beaton

Years ago, their father gambled away Mannerling, the Beverley family estate. Now one of the six daughters must win it back—through marriage. The eldest, Isabella, believes she’s done that by marrying the heir to the estate. But she soon discovers her new husband is a vulgar drunkard—and another suitor is waiting in the wings.


M. C. Beaton

M. C. Beaton is the pen name of bestselling novelist Marion Chesney. She was a prolific writer of historical romances and small village mysteries. Born in Scotland, the author began her writing career as a fiction buyer for a Glasgow bookstore and worked as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor.

The author wrote under various names, most notably as M. C. Beaton for her Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin series. She also wrote under the names Sarah Chester, Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Marion Gibbons, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward.

M.C. BEATON® is a registered trademark of M.C. Beaton Limited

Visit author page

Books By
M. C. Beaton